Now Loading

Election Commission sends notice on "indecent" remarks made by Congressman Randeep Surjewala about Hema Malini.

Image credit: additional resources.

Election Commission issued a showcause notice to Congress leader Randeep Surjewala over his controversial remark against Bharatiya Janata Party MP Hema Malini

Due to his contentious remarks on Bharatiya Janata Party MP Hema Malini, Congress leader Randeep Surjewala received a showcause notice from the Election Commission on Tuesday.

Surjewala was cited as asking, "Why do people elect their MLAs/MPs? " in a BJP video. in order for them (MLAs/MPs) to represent the public. It's not like the election of Hema Malini.

The BJP IT cell was accused by Surjewala of "distorting" the video and disseminating it on social media. "Watch the entire video. "We have a lot of respect for Hema Malini ji, who is our daughter-in-law since she is married to Dharmendra ji," he had stated.

In response to Surjewala's alleged statement, the politician-actor claimed that the Congress targets popular people since it will not benefit them to target unpopular ones.

A third term as MP from Mathura is what Malini is vying for. "They should learn how to respect women from PM Narendra Modi," Malini stated.

Sharing an excerpt of Surjewala's alleged remark, the poll panel said,"Needless to say that the above comments are undignified, vulgar and uncivilised and have not only caused great insult to Smt Hema Malini and disrespect to her position as a member of parliament, but also causes damage to honour and dignity of women legislators, across political formations, of women in public life and of all women in general."

The EC notice to Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge stated, "It is regrettable that the campaigners of the Indian National Congress are still indulging in utterances that are repugnant to the honor and dignity of women, despite the Commission bringing it to the notice of the party at your level."

On April 26, Mathura, one of Uttar Pradesh's 80 seats, will cast ballots in the second of seven phases of the Lok Sabha elections. June 4 is when the votes will be tallied.